Colorado

August 3, 2013

As I do every summer for the last 20 years, I was fortunate to spend the summer of 2013 in Colorado. With a home base in Winter Park, Colorado, for the last 6 weeks, I’ve been camping, driving, hiking, and shooting all over the Rocky Mountains and building my Colorado Images website. I’ve been blessed to spend time in the San Juan Mountains, as well as the northern Rockies near Rocky Mountain National Park. I imagine I’ve hiked over 160 miles and climbed nearly 40,000 vertical feet over the last 40 days. I’ve seen valleys of amazing wildflowers, mountain goats at over 14,000 feet, storms that left the forest floor white with hail, and sunrises that would take your breath away. One of my favorite places in Colorado to shoot is the Maroon Bells near Aspen. These two 14,000′ mountains, North and South Maroon Peak, are two of the most regal and photographed summits in the Rocky Mountain state.

My family was with me most of this time, including my wife and two little girls, which makes the time up there even more special. They are patient with me and my photography perfectionism, as well. But since this is my business, they seem to understand.

I’ve also been in the process of switching web providers this summer. As my business has grown, I’ve found I need to move to a faster server and a more user-friendly website, so hopefully this will work. I’ll evaluate this in about 10 months and see how things are progressing.

My new website is: Images from Texas

If you, the reader, have any suggestions or comments, please feel free to share.

My family and I returned to our home in the Texas Hill Country this weekend and are reacquainting ourselves with the Texas heat. This will be an adjustment because I don’t recall a temperature over 81 degrees for the last 6 weeks. Yes, it was nice.

Upon my return, I already have several shoots in Austin lined up. I’ll be shooting the Austin skyline from the top of two of Austin’s buildings in the next few weeks. I’m also looking forward to the Perseid meteor shower that lasts for several days later this month.

So here is an image from Colorado – my last hike of the summer. I awoke around 3am to hike up to one of my favorite locations – Butler Gulch. The hike itself isn’t far, but it does have some uphill for the last mile as you near the 12,000 foot mark in elevation. The wildflowers up there are amazing and the snow-fed streams are serene. Despite temperatures in the high 30s on the hike up, I was covered in sweat by the time I reached my destination. I wanted to arrive to shoot the Milky Way (which was awesome), but standing around waiting for the sunrise after that left me shivering and eagerly awaiting the first sun rays of morning.

This Colorado picture shows sunrise over Butler Gulch, near Empire, Colorado.

Sunrise over the Rocky Mountains always make for a beautiful Colorado Image and memory.

I hope you enjoy what you see as I share my travels, my vision, and my passion with you.

See more Colorado images at my Colorado Gallery here: Colorado Images

~ Rob

Leave a Reply

