Back to the Texas Hill Country…

August 23, 2014

Texas beauty is different from Colorado beauty. Still, in its own way, Texas has some scenic locations. After leaving Colorado and the Rocky Mountains and returning to Texas, I figured I’d better get used to the heat again. So I headed outdoors.

One of my favorites is Enchanted Rock State Park in the Texas Hill Country. Since I’ve been home, I’ve driven the hour-plus to shoot both sunset and sunrise. For sunrise, I arrived in the middle of the night and also attempted to photograph the Perseid meteor shower in mid-August. (I still have not had time to go through those images).

This past week, I drove out to this Texas state park and photographed the landscape at sunset, then captured the milky way a few hours after that.

On top of the huge granite uplift just north of Fredericksburg, there are some old dead trees. To me, these make the perfect foreground for Texas landscape photography.

The sun sets across the Texas landscape in this Hill Country image from Enchanted Rock State Park.

The sun sets across the Texas landscape in this Hill Country image from Enchanted Rock State Park.

For this particular trip, I shot both to the west (for sunset) and south (for the Milky Way). While walking down the outcrop, I even got lost. Yes, I know that sounds strange, and I’ve been here at least 20 times! I always take a GPS as insurance, but on the way up, the GPS didn’t pick up satellites until halfway up the rock. On the way down, after watching the Milky Way move across the sky for a few hours, everything looked different in the dark.

The Milky Way rises over the Enchanted Rock and the Texas Hill Country on a hot summer night.

The Milky Way rises over the Enchanted Rock and the Texas Hill Country on a hot summer night.

I wandered around for 45 minutes before finally finding my car. I figured I’d either end up on 962 or I’d start back up the rock, so I wasn’t too worried. Still, things are creepy in the middle of the night – and I’ve done plenty of hiking both here and in Colorado. I survived. No Bigfoot, UFOs or crazy folks that night in the Texas Hill Country. Just me.

For more images from this area, feel free to visit my Texas Hill Country Gallery.

Thanks for looking 🙂

~ Rob

 

 

Leave a Reply

